@ the Riverside Art Museum

Exhibition: March 30–April 25, 2019

Award Reception: Thursday, April 4, 2019, 5–6 p.m.

Art Contest Rules

  • Contest is open to all Riverside Unified School District (RUSD) Middle School Student-Artists.
  • One entry per Student-Artist.
  • Participation is required if student is currently enrolled in an art class at an RUSD Middle School.
  • Only 2-dimensional artwork will be accepted in the following categories: Collage/Mixed Media, Watercolor, Tempera Paint, Acrylics, Oils, Pastel, Colored Pencils, Graphics.
  • Artwork must be produced on paper stock appropriate for the medium used.
  • Artwork must be no larger than 18” x 24” (no frames allowed).
  • Please print on the back of artwork in the upper right corner: Student-Artist’s Full Name, Teacher’s Name and Contact Information, and School.
  • A Completed Application must be attached to the back of artwork.
  • The drop-off location for art entries is the Riverside Art Museum (RAM) located at 3425 Mission Inn Avenue, Riverside, CA 92501 OR given to Student-Artist’s art teacher.
  • All entries must be received at RAM by Tuesday, March 26, 2019, by 4 p.m. NO EXCEPTIONS!

Judging will be by local artists and community leaders. Prizes will be awarded for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd places from each school. 

Winners will be announced Tuesday, April 2, 2019, and will be posted on on our website.

Reception for winners will be on Thursday, April 4, 2019, 5–6 p.m.

For additional information, contact Caryn Marsella, Director of Art Education and Community Engagement, at 951.684.7111 x316 or cmarsella@riversideartmuseum.org.

2019 Winners

Congratulations to the following winners:

Miller Middle School:

1st Place: Joseph Zenarosa, “Self Portrait”

2nd Place: Aurora Elder, “King and Queens of Color Theory”

3rd Place: Jorolyn Jones, “Kings and Queens”

University Middle School:

1st Place: Norhan Kamal-Eldin, “Sugar Skill Pointillism”

2nd Place: Christopher Palmerin, “Zentangle Turtle”

3rd Place: Marina Aziz, “My Mandala”


1st Place: Isabella Castaneda, “Awakening”

2nd Place: Tess Reznick, “Inner Life”

3rd Place: Emily Feimer, “Untitled”


1st Place: Magnolia Hyon, “Iris”

2nd Place: Patricia Dacasin, “Street Scene”

3rd Place: Aniya Keeble, “Reflection”


1st Place: Citlali Cruz, “5 Years Ago”

2nd Place: Selome Bridgemen, “Untitled”

3rd Place: Stephanie Delgado, “April 13”


1st Place: Lily Winterton, “Where the Koi Fish Swim”

2nd Place: Jake Halstead, “The Shark of Light”

3rd Place: Sarah Smith, “We Are All Mad Here”


1st Place: Angelina Granados, “Blossom”

2nd Place: Edith Cervantes, “21”

3rd Place: Feliz Valdez, “Untitled”

Best in Show 

To be announced at the Awards Reception.

RAM’s Choice

To be announced at the Awards Reception.